Day in Life

This is a fun post to give you a glimpse into my life. I am always curious to see how other moms schedule their days so I thought it would be fun to show you mine. I also filmed it for my YouTube channel if you want to skip to the bottom and just watch the video. This was a Monday during the summer so there was no school. On school days the schedule is  a lot different.

5:15am – alarm goes off. I still check my phone first thing in the morning. It’s a bad habit and I’m trying to stop. I plan on buying an alarm clock so I don’t use my phone and I can wait till later to check it.

5:20am– get into my workout clothes and do a 30 minute workout. I am with an online training program called 3sFitness and I love it. Today was arm day (my favorite day).

5:50am– Workout complete! My arms feel like jelly. Then I pray, journal and visualize how I want my day to go. This helps calm me and makes me mentally prepared for the day. Then I go out and make my breakfast. Today is a whole wheat waffle with peanut butter. I also have my iced coffee with 2 tablespoons of creamer (I know creamer is bad for me but I drink only water the rest of the day so it’s my little treat in the morning). I also post my first posts on my social media accounts (it’s usually a motivational quote).

6:00am– I work on my blog. Today I need to write a blog post. I publish a post once a week because that’s what works best with my schedule right now.

6:20am – My husband comes out and I talk to him for a few minutes before he leaves for work.

6:50am – I get in the shower. The kids are still asleep but usually my son wakes up when he hears the shower. It only takes me 30 minutes to shower, get dressed, do my hair and put my makeup on.

7:20am– I pack my lunch. I usually have everything prepped ahead of time but I didn’t get a chance to last night.

7:25am– I film a video for Instastories (you can check out my Instagram account HERE). I try to hop on at least in the morning to give some tips or updates on what’s going on. 

7:35am– Cuddle with my son before leaving for the day and wake up my girls.

7:40am – leave for work. It takes between 10-15 mintues to get there. Then I seat in my car until 2 minutes before 8 then I walk in. I’m changing jobs soon and I can not wait!

8:00am– I work at a local hospital where I release confidential medical records. It’s a small hospital so we are not really busy and I spend most of the day scanning records into our electronic system, which is very boring. I do listen to my podcasts while I do this so I get some benefit from it.

10:00am – I go for a 15 minute walk outside on my break. I go with one of my friends from another department so we both can get outside and out of the office for a little bit.

11:30am– I eat lunch in our break room and I read. It’s about the only time I can fit some reading in so I take advantage of it. Today I am reading Blog Inc. by Joy Deangdeelert Cho. I like to read personal development books or books that will help with my blog. I also do my second social media post of the day at this time.

2:00pm– I take another walk outside to get out of the office.

4:00pm– Work is done! I leave and go home! First thing I do at home is throw in a load of laundry. Each person has their own laundry day and they have to bring their clothes to the laundry room before I get home. Today I am washing my oldest daughter’s clothes. Yes I know she is old enough to wash her own and she can. I just actually like doing laundry (I know I’m weird).

4:30pm – dinner time! Yes I know we eat dinner early but we also go to bed early so that’s why. I am so fortunate to have a wonderful husband who likes to cook so dinner is usually ready for me when I get home (yes I do know how lucky I am). We all eat at the dining room table and talk about our day.

5:00pm– Chore time! Since my husband cooks the meal he does not have to help in the after meal clean up. Emptying and loading the dishwasher and cleaning the sink is my oldest daughter’s, who is 16, chores. My 11 year old daughter hates doing any chores in the kitchen and asked if she could clean our 2 bathrooms instead and I gladly let her (I still think cleaning the kitchen is easier but hey I get the bathrooms clean). My son, who is 6, has to clear the table, clean the table and take out the recycling. I have to put away any leftover food,  clean the counters and stove and sweep.  I also put the laundry in the dryer at this time.

6:00pm– My husband and I go for a walk almost every night. Sometimes one of the kids will come with us but we always bring our dog, Sarge. We moved to a new neighborhood so we like walking around and exploring it plus it’s good exercise. I then make a protein shake when I get home. Today is half a frozen banana, almond milk, peanut butter and fudge brownie protein powder.

6:30pm– I work on my blog for a little bit. Right now I’m working on a course to help with the mindset around perfection. I am trying hard to just get it done and not focus on it being perfect but I’m finding it hard this time. I just want it to be good.

7:00pm– I get the laundry out and go to my daughter’s room to help her put it away and spend some time with her. I try to spend at least a little bit of quality time with each kid every week. Usually when I put their laundry away I’ll have them come with me so we can talk and hang out. I will usually spend extra time with them after too.

8:00pm– We start getting ready for bed. I brush my teeth, take off my makeup and change into my pajamas. Then I read my son a story and spend a few minutes cuddling with him. Then I go into my middle daughter’s room to spend a few minutes with her. At least I know I connected with my kids one-one-one for a few minutes everyday. The girls will stay up for a few more hours but they usually stay in their rooms. Then my husband and I spend some quality time together and watch a show. I usually fall asleep by 9:30pm at the latest.

Click the video below to watch my day in the life.

If you need help learning to ask for help so you have more time to enjoy motherhood then check out my free Learning to Ask for and Accept Help Course. Click HERE to learn more.

If a course isn’t your thing then I also have a free Facebook group called Let’s Be Real that will offer support and tips to embrace your imperfections and enjoy life more. Click HERE to join.

day life

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Belinda Gest

    August 6, 2017 at 1:40 pm

    What a busy mom you are. I can sooooo relate to that schedule. The challenge for me is the little time we have for family these days. We have to squeeze everybody in somewhere. Great information and valuable details.

    1. JillianGrover

      August 7, 2017 at 6:17 am

      That is a challenge for me too. After working all day I’m tired and just want to relax but it’s also important to send time with my family.Just trying to fit it all in is hard but I’m still working on it. Thank you for reading. I’m glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply